Why I’m Bad At Watching TV

January 22, 2012 § 1 Comment

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

So I don’t really watch that much TV. It’s not that I don’t like TV. TV is great. I get really excited when I have nothing to do and get to sit on the couch and watch TV. It’s just that I can’t seem to find shows that can hold my interest. And I also suck at committing to watching a show every single week at the same time. I’m not sure what it is because I’m pretty good at remembering appointments and dates and responsibilities and stuff like that. I just can’t commit 30-60 minutes on the same day each week to my television.

I’ve tried watching Jersey Shore. It’s really funny and entertaining but I guess it didn’t hold my interest enough for me to return to it every Thursday night (see, I remember when it’s on). I’ve tried Entourage, many of the Real Housewives, Teen Mom, Real World, Gossip Girl, all of The Kardashian Krap, Cake Boss, Weeds, Modern Family, Glee, and many, many more. I watch a few others but I don’t want to say anything bad about them because I really like them and it’s not their fault I just can’t commit!

The following is a list of reasons why I think I am bad at watching TV.

1. You have to watch EVERY single episode, unlike the Rugrats.

Ok, the Rugrats was my favorite show ever when I was little. I think adventures are so awesome and I would have loved to go on those adventures. And I didn’t have to remember what happened in the last episode in order to watch the next one. I could watch them as I pleased. The characters were easy to like, the plot was pretty simple and it wasn’t overly dramatic. I’m finding in a lot of the TV shows that are on now, if you miss an episode, all of a sudden BAM your favorite character has a drug problem. It’s like WHOA when did that happen?!?! Oh, it must have happened that night I went to the gym instead of watching last week’s episode.

2. A lot of them are REALLY awkward to watch when you live with your parents.

I’m living at home right now and say I’m watching Shameless (one show I am enjoying right now, there is a chance I will continuously watch this but I can’t promise anything so don’t ask me if I watched last week’s episode). All of a sudden, there’s BOOBS/SEX. And then all of a sudden my dad comes upstairs (his office is in our basement). Awkward…

3. Something comes up.

Lots of the time I REALLY do mean to sit down on the couch every week and watch “my show” (that’s what all the cool people call it when they watch a show every week right?). But what if you had a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to take a bath, do your nails, and play with your dog. Wouldn’t you take it? UM, yeah? (Well this doesn’t make me sound like a huge weirdo…)

4. All of the biddies start tweeting about it.

I’m not sure if this is a BU-coined term, but if you don’t know, a biddy is basically one of “those girls” (I guess the definition would go something like this (at least 4 of these criteria): always poses with hand on hip, can’t go to the bathroom without taking a friend or 4 with her, wears cropped tops, is artificially tanned, is in a sorority, regularly reads “Betches Love This Site”, etc.). (Sorry if I just described you.) (No offense.) ANYWAY. When you enjoy a show, and all of a sudden you go on twitter, and the girls that you follow to be nice (since they are following you, you follow them back) are tweeting up a freaking storm about it, it just becomes a less desirable show to watch (#JUSTBEINHONEST). You miss an episode but go on twitter and then the whole episode is just ruined for you because they won’t stop tweeting about it. I guess if you are a true fan, you wouldn’t let something as minute as this force you to stop watching. Hence, why this blogpost is called “Why I’m Bad At Watching TV.”

5. It just gets really bad.

So, I have been a big fan of shows before, watching regularly as much as I possibly could. And then all of a sudden, as I said earlier, your favorite character is a drug addict. Or she sleeps with someone that her best friend slept with. Or she gets in a fight and spills a drink on someone who happens to be her mother. Or she spends way too much on a marriage that lasts 70 days. Something to that effect. It’s just stupid. It’s really unrealistic and stupid and overly dramatic and I don’t want to watch anymore.

I’m not saying any of the shows that I used to watch and stopped watching were bad! Because they probably weren’t if they even held my interest for the slightest amount of time. But I just decided to stop watching them. So let’s see if this happens with “my” current show, Shameless. I’ll keep you updated.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Why I’m Bad At Watching TV

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I’m Bad At Watching TV at fantasticality.

meta

