The Plaid Shirt: Inspired By…

October 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

Style is so important. We are surrounded by people, events, objects, etc. that inspire our style. I have always been very interested in fashion, but in a different way than the future fashion designers and bloggers of our time.

Men’s fashion is a recent passion that I’ve taken up. I have always found it deeply attractive when a man knows how to dress. Everything from pea coats to wingtips to a fresh pair of dark wash jeans– it all makes the man. For me, a guy really stands out if he knows how to present himself, and I don’t just mean as a businessman.

Somedays I even find it easier to be inspired by men’s fashion than to search my closet for the perfect combination of silk, leather, jean, accessories, a handbag, and perfectly done hair to match. Don’t get me wrong, I love my six-inch heels and maxi skirts, but I find men’s fashion so much more wearable some days.

Let’s take a basic plaid shirt. Maybe I’m biased because he stars in one of my favorite shows (How to Make it In America), but the first person that pops into my head is Bryan Greenberg. Whether you are a male or a female, you can’t deny that the man can wear a plaid shirt VERY well.

I think he’s a great inspiration to other guys because he shows how easy it is to pull off something as basic as a button-down. Sometimes I see the button-downs guys choose and I have to bite my tongue in order to avoid asking them if their attire was influenced by their mother’s curtains… but we won’t go there right now. I’ll finish off my commenting on BG’s style by advising guys to pick a button-down that fits well, doesn’t have any crazy color combinations or other adornments, and polishes but doesn’t look swanky.

Ladies can be inspired by BG’s style as well, without looking sloppy or masculine. How? Well, we’ve all seen the girls with the plaid shirt and jeans and boots. That look is easy, and cute, but if you want to step it up a notch, check out Manrepeller.

Here, the Leandra “Man Repeller” Medine herself, models one of her impeccable style creations. The plaid jacket (The Hellers) complements the classicality of the black and white. The shoes (Thakoon) are very Autumn. The bag speaks for itself (what outfit doesn’t look good with a Chanel purse next to it?). The fabulous thing about Man Repeller, which I believe distinguishes her from other style icons of our decade, is that she teaches you how to make things more wearable by layering as much or as little as you’d like (though I’m sure she’d vouch for the former).

As inspiring as she is, sometimes I just find it easier to stick with the simply & classic men’s style, with minimal accessories and a focus on the good old shirt n’ jeans combo.

§ One Response to The Plaid Shirt: Inspired By…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Plaid Shirt: Inspired By… at fantasticality.

meta

